Moose Jaw Police Service Swears in Three New Officers and Five Board Members

On Thursday, January 4, 2024, the Moose Jaw Police Service and Moose Jaw Board of Police Commissioners swore in three new officers, along with five board members. The Honourable Brian Hendrickson, Judge of the Provincial Court of Saskatchewan, administered the oaths.

Sukhraj Jawanda, Jeremy Wright, and Cory Knutt took their oaths, while Doug Blanc, Clive Tolley, Crystal Froese, Patricia Martynook, and Nicole Swanson were sworn into the Board of Police Commissioners.

MJPS Chief, Rick Bourassa says this is an important day for the three officers and five board members.

“We have a number of people who are taking on the burden and responsibility of becoming public officials and ensuring through both practice and oversight that policing meets the highest standards our community expects and deserves,” says Chief Bourassa.

New to the Board of Police Commissioners this year are Councilor Crystal Froese, along with Nicole Swanson, and Patricia Martynook. Returning members are Councilor Doug Blanc and City of Moose Jaw Mayor, Clive Tolley.

The Moose Jaw Board of Police Commissioners consists of the City of Moose Jaw Mayor, two city councilors, and two at-large members (residents of Moose Jaw, other than members of the city council).

The first Board of Police Commissioners meeting of 2024 will take place on January 11, 2024, at the Moose Jaw Cultural Centre starting at 2:00 p.m.

Cst. Sukhraj Jawanda is an experienced member, who previously spent 11 months with the Saskatchewan Highway Patrol. He began in-service training with the Community Policing Division on December 11, 2023.

“My first weeks on the job have been full of excitement,” says Jawanda. “I’m glad to be part of a great team that has welcomed me. Joining the Moose Jaw Police Service provides me with a career path along with opportunities for training and career advancements. Moose Jaw is a multicultural city and a great place to call home.”

The MJPS hired Jeremy Wright in July 2023 and started in our Communications Centre as a Special Constable on August 1, 2023, while he awaited his training at the Saskatchewan Police College. Wright is originally from Ontario and is looking forward to starting his training.

“I’m excited to learn and grow as an officer and can’t wait to serve the community of Moose Jaw, which has become my home,” says Wright.

Lastly, Cory Knutt, who originally is from southern Manitoba, comes to the MJPS from Golden West Broadcasting, where he was a news reporter for several years. He is looking forward to making a positive impact within the community of Moose Jaw.

“The Moose Jaw Police Service has a rich and storied history and I’m thrilled to begin my policing career with such a reputable organization,” says Knutt. “I hope to do my part in keeping Moose Jaw a safe place to live, work and visit.”

Both Wright and Knutt will begin their 21-week recruit training program at the Saskatchewan Police College on January 8, 2024.

(Back row L to R): The Honourable Brian Hendrickson, Chaplain DJ Kim, Cst. Cory Knutt, Cst. Sukhraj Jawanda, Cst. Jeremy Wright, and MJPS Chief Rick Bourassa. (Front row L to R): Commissioner Nicole Swanson, Commissioner Doug Blanc, Commissioner Crystal Froese, and Commissioner Patricia Martynook.


For further information please contact:

Jay-D Haughton

Public Information and Strategic Communication Manager

Moose Jaw Police Service

21 Fairford St West

Phone: 306-513-7910